2.6. Save a Copy

This command can be accessed from an image menubar as File->Save a Copy.... It does not have a default shortcut.

"Save a Copy" does the same things as the Save command, except that it does not change the name of the image, and does not cause the image to be marked as "clean". The effect of this is that if you try to delete the image, or exit from GIMP, you will be informed that the image is dirty and given an opportunity to save it.