Chapter 3. GNOME Desktop Sessions

Ending a Session

Log Out icon.

To end your session, close all your currently active processes, then perform one of the following actions:

  • Click on a Log Out button.

  • Open the Main Menu, then choose Log Outusername.

  • Choose Actions->Log Out.

Before you end a session, you might want to save your current settings so that you can restore the session later. During the logout process, a dialog asks if you want to save your current settings. In the Sessions preference tool, you can select an option to automatically save your current settings.